The Twelfth Station of the Cross: Jesus Dies on the Cross

IMG_0311

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end.

ACT OF CONTRITION
My Lord Jesus Christ, Thou hast made this journey to die for me with love unutterable, and I have so many times unworthily abandoned Thee; but now I love Thee with my whole heart, and because I love Thee I repent sincerely for having ever offended Thee. Pardon me, my God, and permit me to accompany Thee on this journey. Thou goest to die for love of me; I wish also, my beloved Redeemer, to die for love of Thee. My Jesus, I will live and die always united to Thee.

V. We adore Thee, O Christ, and we praise Thee.
R. Because by Thy holy cross Thou hast redeemed the world.

Consider how thy Jesus, after three hours of agony on the cross, consumed at length with anguish, abandons Himself to the weight of His body, bows His head, and dies.

O my dying Jesus, I kiss devoutly the cross on which Thou didst die for love of me. I have merited by my sins to die a miserable death, but Thy death is my hope. Ah, by the merits of Thy death, give me grace to die, embracing Thy feet and burning with love of Thee. I commit my soul into Thy hands. I love Thee with my whole heart; I repent of ever having offended Thee. Never permit me to offend Thee again. Grant that I may love Thee always; and then do with me what Thou wilt.

All:
Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth, as it is in Heaven. And give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
Amen
Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou amongst women and blessed is the Fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death.
Amen
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

image

The Twelfth Station: Jesus Dies on the Cross

Leader: We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you.

All: Because by your Holy Cross you have redeemed the world!

Leader: The elderly priest raises the host, then the cup: “This is my Body. … This is the cup of my blood. … Do this in memory of me.” Even after repeating these sacred actions thousands of times, he remains in awe of the mystery they recall and once again make real – Christ’s sacrifice on the Cross. It is the same sacrifice the elderly priest has sought to imitate for his flock. As he distributes Holy Communion with the words “the Body of Christ,” “Blood of Christ,” he declares what each person receives and what each becomes: the presence of Jesus as food for the world.

All: Lord Jesus, by your suffering and death on the Cross, you brought life to the world. Each time we receive Holy Communion, we are immersed in your death and resurrection. Your gift of love, offered freely on the Cross, becomes for us now the food of our salvation. Help us to live in faithful response to so great a sacrifice. Help us to die to self so that we may live for others.

Leader: Hail the Cross,

All: Our Only Hope.

Source: https://www.holycrossusa.org/spirituality/holy-cross-stations-of-the-cross/the-twelfth-station-jesus-dies-on-the-cross/

12th Station
The Twelfth Station:
Jesus Dies on the Cross

God is dead! No wonder the earth quaked, the sun hid itself, the dead rose and Mary stood by in horror. Your human body gave up it’s soul in death but Your Divinity, dear Jesus, continued to manifest its power. All creation rebelled as the Word made Flesh departed from this world. Man alone was too proud to see and too stubborn to acknowledge truth.

Redemption was accomplished! Man would never have an excuse to forget how much You loved him. The thief on Your right saw something he could not explain – he saw a man on a tree and knew He was God. His need made him see his own guilt and Your innocence. The Promise of eternal life made the remaining hours of his torture. endurable.

A common thief responded to Your love with deep Faith, Hope, and Love. He saw more than his eyes envisioned – he felt a Presence he could not explain and would not argue with. He was in need and accepted the way God designed to help him.

Forgive our pride, dear Jesus as we spend hours speculating, days arguing and often a lifetime in rejecting Your death, which is a sublime mystery. Have pity on those whose intelligence leads them to pride because they never feel the need to reach out to the Man of Sorrows for consolation.

Amen

Source: EWTN

 

 

About V.L.M.

Author, Editor, Poet, Composer, Environmental Activist, Spiritual Activist
This entry was posted in Easter, Spiritual, Stations of the Cross and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

