The First Station of the Cross: Jesus is Condemned to Death

The Stations of the cross are also known as The Way of the Cross, Via Crucis), Latin for Way of the Cross), or Via Dolorosa ( Latin for Way of Grief).

 

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end.

ACT OF CONTRITION

My Lord Jesus Christ, Thou hast made this journey to die for me with love unutterable, and I have so many times unworthily abandoned Thee; but now I love Thee with my whole heart, and because I love Thee I repent sincerely for having ever offended Thee. Pardon me, my God, and permit me to accompany Thee on this journey. Thou goest to die for love of me; I wish also, my beloved Redeemer, to die for love of Thee. My Jesus, I will live and die always united to Thee. 

V. We adore Thee, O Christ, and we praise Thee.
R. Because by Thy holy cross Thou hast redeemed the world. 

Consider, that Jesus, after having been scourged and crowned with thorns, was unjustly condemned by Pilate to die on the cross. My adorable Jesus, it was not Pilate, no, it was my sins, that condemned Thee to die. I beseech Thee, by the merits of this sorrowful journey, to assist my soul in its journey toward eternity.

I love Thee, my beloved Jesus; I love Thee more than myself; I repent with my whole heart of having offended Thee. Never permit me to separate myself from Thee again. Grant that I may love Thee always; and then do with me what Thou wilt.

All:
Our Father, Who art in Heaven, hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth, as it is in Heaven. And give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
Amen
Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee. Blessed art thou amongst women and blessed is the Fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death.
Amen

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen.

 

                  The earliest use of the word “stations”, as applied to the accustomed halting-places in the Via Sacra at Jerusalem, occurs in the narrative of an English pilgrim, William Wey, who visited the Holy Land in the mid-15th century, and described pilgrims following the footsteps of Christ to the cross. In 1521 a book called Geystlich Strass was printed with illustrations of the stations in the Holy Land. (http://www.archive.org/stream/stationsofcrossa00thuruoft/stationsofcrossa00thuruoft_djvu.txt)

The style and form of the stations can vary widely and often reflect the artistic sensibility and spirituality of the time, place and culture of their creation. The stations can consist of small plaques with reliefs or paintings, or of simple crosses with a numeral in the centre. http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:BookSources/0812215125

The accounts of the Passion are found in the four canonical gospelsMatthewMarkLukeand John. Three of these, Matthew, Mark, and Luke, known as the Synoptic Gospels, give very similar accounts. The Gospel of John accounts varies slightly.

The events include up to and including the First Station are:

  • Triumphal entry into JerusalemCleansing of the Temple,
  • The conspiracy against Jesus by the Jewish chief priests and the teachers of the law.[4][5][6]
  • A meal a few days before Passover. A woman anoints Jesus. He says that for this she will always be remembered.
  • In Jerusalem, the Last Supper shared by Jesus and his disciples. Jesus gives final instructions, predicts his betrayal, and tells them all to remember him.
  • On the path to Gethsemane after the meal. Jesus tells them they will all fall away that night; after Peter protests he will not, Jesus says Peter will deny him three times before the cock crows.
  • Gethsemane, later that night. As the disciples rest, Jesus prays; then Judas Iscariot leads in either “a detachment of soldiers and some officials from the chief priests and Pharisees”[7] (accompanied according to Luke’s Gospel by the chief priests and elders),[8] or a “large crowd armed with swords and clubs, sent from the chief priests and elders of the people,”[9][10] which arrests Jesus; all his disciples run away. During the arrest in Gethsemane, someone (Peter according to John) takes a sword and cuts off the ear of the high priest’s servant, Malchus. 

More to come. 🙏

 

About V.L.M.

Author, Editor, Poet, Composer, Environmental Activist, Spiritual Activist
This entry was posted in Easter, Spiritual, Stations of the Cross and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

